A controversial infrastructure bill would not have passed without support from GOP representatives, a previous president said on Nov. 8.

Donald Trump used his speech to the annual National Republican Congressional Committee dinner to strongly criticize 13 party members who supported the $1.2 trillion package.

The following Republican representatives supported the Democrat-led bill: Adam Kinzinger (Ill.), Don Bacon (Neb.), Don Young (Alaska), John Katko (N.Y.), Tom Reed (N.Y.), Andrew Garbarino (N.Y.), Nicole Malliotakis (N.Y.), Brian Fitzpatrick (Pa.), Chris Smith (N.J.), Jeff Van Drew (N.J.), Fred Upton (Mich.), Anthony Gonzalez (Ohio), and David McKinley (W.V.).

New York Post Washington reporter Juliegrace Brufke revealed Malliotakis was “visibly shaken” when she heard Trump speak at the dinner.

Fox News reported the bill’s final vote was 228 for and 206 against. This suggests the bill would have been rejected, if every Republicans voted along party lines.

Not all Democrats wanted the bill to pass either. Six “Democrat squad” members voted against the bill according to the broadcaster.

The package has been widely criticized for not exclusively building national infrastructure. The bill includes new “labor protections” that could impede sustainable economic development. It also includes the largest social program expansion since the 1960s.

Trump consistently opposed the bill and the Biden administration’s big spending plan. He previously criticized the package as Joe Biden’s “Green New Deal.” He also called it a waste of taxpayer funds and warned the measure would inevitably lead to higher taxes.

Rep. Madison Cawthorn (R-N.C.) earlier warned that any GOP member who supports the infrastructure bill will face fierce opposition at the next election.

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.